Jewish Music Blog

January 4, 2006

Tek-Noy – Review

Filed under: Reviews — jewishmusic @ 3:33 pm

When I first heard the title Tek-Noy, I wasn’t sure what to think – yeshivish techno? This conjured up images of yeshivah guys banging their heads against their gemorahs. Although I’m not a techno expert, after reading wikipedia’s definition of techno, I came away with the impression that techno is fast electronic music usually without words. Although this album has a more electronic focus than Gerstner’s previous albums, luckily it is far from being all techno. There are several ballads such as Ani Kirasicha, as well as 70s style disco in Da Lifnei and Horiu, a Latin pop song, which don’t have much electronic music, and all the songs have words.

Another impression I got from the album cover was that Tek-Noy was a new Gerstner group. In fact, the two Yo-Yo’s (Yossi Sharf, Yossi Newman) are just back-up singers; they rarely, if at all, sing lead. Although it seems that Eli Gerstner wanted to market this as something other than just the next Eli Gerstner Album, in my eyes, this album is just Eli Gerstner 4.

Although techno paints a picture of something more rocky than rock, in many ways this album is less rocky than Gerstner’s previous album. Most of the songs don’t have extensive overdrive guitar, and the ballads usually stay ballads and don’t revert into Gerstner-esque rock-wanna-be songs.

The most techno oriented songs are Shene’emar, a catchy Gerstner style fast tune which revolves around a very simple chord progression, Sapru, and Hu Yiftach.

A couple of songs are worthy of note. I really like the song Yiram. First, the words fit perfectly into the melody which really adds drive to this ballad. The tune itself revolves around a progression that many Gerstner tunes do not use and the tune does not sound like a typical Gerstner song. The song Da Lifnei is a 70s style disco complete with wah guitar, octave bass, pitch bent strings and hand clapping sounds. The Yo-Yos take the place of backup singers. Although the song itself isn’t great, the arrangement is cute.

All in all this album is typical Gerstner, but it seems that Gerstner is learning to balance his music. Although there is a lot of three-part harmony, there is very little overdriven rhythm guitar and the songs don’t sound too cluttered. Don’t let the title scare you off – this album is far from all techno.

3 Comments »

  1. Nice review…I wrote a bit about my first impressions as well here.
    some of which follow your line of thinking.

    Comment by Jewish Blogmeister — January 4, 2006 @ 4:08 pm

  2. Why would you pussyfoot around? “It’s typical gerstner, except for one or two songs.” SO tell people NOT TO BUY THE ALBUM! If people made a mistake and bought one Gerstner excretion, they should know that his subsequent and previous work is just more of the same. Seriously.

    Comment by Anonymous — February 2, 2006 @ 4:31 pm

  3. Maybe you didn’t understand the purpose of my blog. I don’t tell people “not to buy albums”. I try to give a somewhat objective account of the music produced and point out musically what I like and dislike about an album. If I say it’s typical Gerstner, it’s typical Gerstner, and if you like Gerstner, you’ll buy it, if you don’t, you won’t. Pretty simple.

    I’m not going to say that I dislike something and therefore you shouldn’t buy it. Who am I to judge what people like or dislike? I don’t have such a conceited view of myself that I would subject my views onto somebody else in such a rash fashion.–>

    Comment by keyboardguy — February 2, 2006 @ 8:17 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

