Jewish Music Blog

December 20, 2005

What’s New

Filed under: Uncategorized — jewishmusic @ 9:53 pm

Well, it’s been a while, but I’m back. Finals time – just kills you (especially in law school).

Lately, there’s been a lot of Jewish music activity. Lev Tahor 4 is almost out. Sameach Music has some demos. Interestingly, it’s listed under Shabbat songs (all or most of the songs have to with Shabbos) . It seems that whenever Eli Gerstner releases something, he’s not content with releasing just one thing. YBC live is a recording of a concert featuring Yeshiva Boys Choir and Menucha. Tek-Noy is Eli Gerstner’s admission that he likes techo. I guess the name comes from an attempt to sound techo with a yeshivish o’ pronounciation.

Shalsheles Junior is Shalsheles’ realization that their third album was under par, so they’re remarketing the name with new, younger singers. From what I heard of the demos it seems that Shalsheles finally learned what auto-tune is. They could have used some of their third album.

As soon as I get my hands on these albums, I’ll attempt to review them.

1 Comment »

  1. Dear Aryeh,
    Long time no see. This is Shimon’s mom. Surprise!
    I’ll only comment on Matisyahu. I knew I was getting older when I couldn’t handle his performance. I laughed rather than cried. I don’t believe that this is what Hashem intended when he gave us the gift of Jewish music. I think Hashem is laughing along with me.

    I hope law school is treating you well and keep blogging.

    Ellen–>

    Comment by simpsonfamily — January 29, 2006 @ 12:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

